top of page
tlglawson70

Second Chances for Elliot

My name is Elliott Lee Robinson. I have been incarcerated for 23 years. I'm serving a single life sentence for abduction, carjacking, robbery, and use of a firearm in commission of a felony. At the time of the offense I was a 19 years old, first time felon with no prior history of violence. 

Each day young men and woman of all nationalities are constantly being sentenced to these lengthy sentences, and left to parish behind these prison walls. We're suppose to live in a land of "SECOND CHANCES", "FORGIVENESS". I ask where's the human nature of understanding that an individual can change? With strong determination, pursuit of education, trade programs, and spiritual practice I most definitely have  been given the opportunity to REDEEM myself, my story, my now. The thought of a 19 years old having the capability of maturing and rehabilitating themselves is simply discrediting the unique nature of a man evolving.  I felt compelled to write this and share my story in hopes of having it touch the heart of one or more person's that may have a loved one that has met this same fate. I've never made excuses or lacked accountability for my poor choice of action. 

There's a saying, a person should never live with regret, but honestly I struggle with that daily. The thing that brings me out of that mental paralysis is that I know I was better then how I represented myself. I am a man seeking "REDEMPTION "

I awake every morning knowing I'm physically locked away, but my mind, heart,  and soul is as free as it's ever been, and go to bed each night knowing I am worth a SECOND CHANCE at freedom.  

I understand who I am as a man, a god fearing man. I have confronted the parts of my past that I am not most proud of. Everyday I continue to work on banishing them with illumination of my acts and forgiveness of myself.  My willingness to wrestle my demons, has allowed my angels to sing. 

I have no ides what Allah has in store for me, but I don't want to be remembered for who I was and what I did. I want to be known for what i've became and still becoming.  

                   Elliott






9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Love & Forgiveness

"The love and attention you always thought you wanted from someone else is the love and attention that you first need to give to...

Thoughts…..

I thought today, perhaps a little too much About us, life, love, destiny, and such. My heart thirsts like a sun-baked flower, Waiting for...

Yorumlar


bottom of page